The Covent Garden Comedy Tickets

Comedy

Heaven
11 The Arches, Off Villiers Street, London, WC2N 6NG

No Booking Fee Offer
Valid on all dates performances
Important Information

Seating is theatre-style, seats are pre-allocated and reserved for you until you arrive. 
Show starts at 8.00pm, Doors open at 7.30pm.
Age recommendation: 14+ with valid ID. Under 16's must be accompanied by an adult. 

The Covent Garden Comedy Club @ Heaven is celebrating 17 years of making London laugh in 2019 and is the biggest and most successful independent comedy club in Central London with the best acts in the business. We only book the best comedians from the international circuit, many of whom are stars of television. The comedians only perform at the club a few times a year to ensure every show is different. There are 3-4 comedians and a compere in each show.
Every Comedy ticket includes free entry to Mabel's - a modern classy club located on Maiden Lane, a 5 minute walk away, just off The Strand.
Collect your Mabel's voucher on the way out of the Comedy Show to gain free entrance and a free shot upon arrival. Private areas can be reserved at Mabel's, please contact us for info. Mabel's is a strictly 18+ venue, the dress code is smart casual – trainers are fine. 
MAY
Saturday 25th May - David Whitney MC, Ian Coppinger, Dan Nightingale, Mike Cox
Friday 31st May - act to be confirmed
JUNE
Saturday 1st June – Justin Panks MC, Jen Brister, Javier Jarquin, Alex Kealy, Patrick Healy
Friday 7th June - act to be confirmed
Saturday 8th June – Ria Lina MC, John Ryan, Jarlath Regan, James Ellis, Russell Arathoon
Saturday 15th June – Danny Buckler MC, Pierre Hollins, Ian Smith, William Stone, Red Richardson
Friday 21st June - act to be confirmed
Saturday 22nd June – Craig Murray MC, Addy Van Der Borgh, Jeff Innocent, Dinesh Nathan, Kathryn Mather
Saturday 29th June – Russell Hicks MC, Jonny Awsum, Phil Chapman, Darach McGarrigle, Elie Kraft
JULY
Saturday 13th July – Justin Panks MC, Simon Brodkin, David Tsonos, Steve Hall, Konstantin Kisin
Saturday 20th July – Windsor MC, Robert White, Sean Mcloughlin, Ali Woods, Colin Chadwick
Saturday 17th July – John Ryan MC, Andrew Bird, Tez Illyas, Kieran Lawless, Fraser Gibson
AUGUST
Saturday 3rd August – Justin Panks MC, Andrew Lawrence, Geoff Boyz, Patrick Healy, Julius Howe
Saturday 10th August – Kevin Shepherd MC, Alan Francis, Peter Flanagan, Tamer Kattan
Saturday 17th August – Jojo Smith MC, Ben Norris, Nathan Caton, Richard Spalding, Cathal O’Riordan
Saturday 24th August – Susan Murray MC, Ian Stone, Roger Monkhouse, Fred Barber, Alex Oliver
Saturday 31st August – John Ryan MC, Dave Johns, Dane Baptiste, Jake Baker, Fiona Ridgewell
SEPTEMBER
Saturday 7th September - Geoff Whiting MC, Jarlath Regan, Jeff Innocent, Simon Brodkin
Saturday 14th September - James Dowdeswell MC, Addy Van Der Borgh, Alistair Williams, Joe Jacobs
Saturday 21st September - act to be confirmed
Saturday 28th September - Geoff Whiting MC, Luke Toulson, Omid Singh, Mathew Mcaloone
OCTOBER
Saturday 5th October - act to be confirmed
Saturday 12th October - act to be confirmed
Saturday 19th October - act to be confirmed
Saturday 26th October - act to be confirmed
NOVEMBER
Saturday 2nd November - act to be confirmed
Saturday 9th November - act to be confirmed
Saturday 16th November - act to be confirmed
Saturday 23rd November - act to be confirmed
Saturday 30th November - act to be confirmed
DECEMBER
Saturday 7th December - act to be confirmed
Saturday 14th December - act to be confirmed

Heaven

11 The Arches, Off Villiers Street, London, WC2N 6NG

View Seating Plan

London clubland in the 1970s was a fairly dismal place. It compared very unfavourably with New York and many European cities and the concept of ‘clubbing’ as we understand the term today simply did not exist.

To that end a group of innovative characters got together and took over the site that was a run down old roller disco called Global Village and in December 1979 Heaven opened its doors for the first time. It was timed perfectly. Six months earlier Mrs Thatcher had been elected and an era began that saw unemployment rise to levels last seen in the 1930s. The sense of decay and gloom was palpable. The ‘Swinging London’ of the 1960s a distant memory. London needed a splash of colour & flamboyance to counter balance the otherwise grey monochrome that was the reality of the British capital.

Heaven was the brainchild of Jeremy Norman, responsible for the Embassy club, and which was seen as the nearest London had to Studio 54 in new york. Heaven quickly became the focal point for what had until then been a fairly understated gay scene that hitherto had been based in small hidden cellar bars or pub discos. When Heaven opened its doors in 1979 only 12 years had elapsed since the decriminalisation of homosexuality and at the time there was still a lot of overt prejudice against gay men & lesbians. Heaven bore the brunt of some of that intolerance and in those days was regarded warily by the authorities.

It did however establish itself as a club venue that constantly re-invented itself. Its long standing creative director and general manager David Inches ensured that it never grew tired and always had a bookings policy that set it apart from its rivals. Not just gay club events either. Over the years nights such as ‘Bedrock’ ‘Pyramid’, ‘ Shoom’, ‘Rage’, ‘Megatripolis’ amongst many others all attracted a predominantly straight crowd for whom Heaven represented a delicious step into the decadent unknown.

There were periodic live shows featuring bands who fancied playing an off the wall venue rather than the usual spit and sawdust live music venues. New Order played their first London show here in 1981. Barely six months earlier, when they had been called Joy Division their lead singer Ian Curtis had committed suicide. The renamed band minus Curtis had much to prove. Their London show 33 years ago has since passed into legend.
More Related Shows

Genres & Tags for The Covent Garden Comedy: